Breaking Through the Slump

21 Apr

I had a bit of a reading and writing slump for the past couple of weeks.  As is pretty obvious, I was not blogging a whole lot.  I also was not doing personal writing.  Plus, I was really struggling with my reading.  I usually read at least 4 or so books over spring break.  I really only finished Grasshopper Jungle and read one other book, My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick.  I had gone to the library at the start of break and brought home a bunch of books from my classroom library with so much hope of all the reading I would do.  Nope.  Didn’t happen.

Not to mention, I have been slumping a little bit this year in general.  My goal of 100 books?  Goodreads has reminded me that I am 12 books behind.  Oops.  I was feeling pretty lost and just could not get the motivation going.

I posted on Facebook on April 13 that I was in a slump.  Just threw it out there and said I was sad about it because that was on my mind.  I should not have been surprised that my friends and reading community stepped up with some advice and encouragement to help me out.

Here are the highlights of what they told me that really helped:

  • Go back and reread a favorite
  • Try light, romantic, funny books
  • Try picture books and graphic novels
  • Others are behind pace, too
  • Try something different
  • Try an audio book
  • Slumps are totally normal
  • Slumps mean you are reader

These titles were also specifically suggested:

I felt much better after everyone’s kind words, suggestions, and encouragements.  Yes, readers have slumps.  There is nothing wrong with that.  And so I’m behind my pace.  Who cares?  I have still read 18 books in the first four months of the year and that is pretty awesome.

So, I decided to put the book I was reading aside and switch to a book I really wanted to read, Split Second by Kasie West (review to come very soon!).  What a fantastic idea it was! I read it in less than a week.  I devoured it really.  The stay up way too late type of reading.  And I fell right into another book that I am loving as well.  I made it through!  I am so grateful for my reading community and how they helped. I am feeling more excited to read, and write.

I also shared a little of this experience with my students.  I think they were a little surprised to hear me use “reading” and “slump” in the same sentence.  I know it’s important to share this with them so that they know it is normal and we all go through it.

What do you do when you find you are in a slump?  What advice can you share with others?

3 Responses to “Breaking Through the Slump”

  1. Shannon @ River City Reading April 21, 2014 at 7:09 am #

    I’ve been trying to push through a slump for a couple months now (my blogging friends and I have been calling it “The Sea of 3’s – nothing has been grabbing us)…and finally feel like I started two amazing books this week. I usually try to read shorter books or books I don’t have super high expectations for, which usually works, but it took me a little too long to get out of this one! Keep your eye out for We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – that was one shining light in the Sea of 3’s and it was unusual for me to pick up a YA book!

    • jessicacrawford28 April 21, 2014 at 8:32 pm #

      I cannot wait to read We Were Liars! It is all I keep hearing about yet I know nothing about it!! I’m told I need that, though. Thanks for the input and I hope you push through your slump as well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Confession Time | Mrs. Crawford's Thoughts - May 18, 2015

    […] have written about reading slumps before. This one is different.  I am reading and want to read; I just have way too much going on […]

Leave a Reply

